Law & Legal & Attorney Government & administrative Law

Ohio Workers' Comp Laws

    Workers' Compensation Requirement

    • Ohio law requires all employers within the state to provide workers' compensation insurance for their employees. Employers may insure themselves or use a state fund. Despite this requirement, the law allows employers to request a waiver of workers' compensation coverage for employer-sponsored recreational activities.

    Medical Benefits and Choice of Physician

    • If you are an employee in Ohio, the law allows your employer to initially choose your physician for total disability compensation for up to 90 days. Upon completion of this 90-day period, you must be examined by the Bureau of Workers' Compensation Medical Section, during which a determination is made as to whether you are receiving the appropriate care or not.

    Death Benefits Provided

    • If an employee dies as a result of a workplace injury, Ohio law states that the surviving dependents of the employee, which may include but is not limited to the surviving spouse and children, may be eligible for workers' compensation benefits. In addition, burial allowance must also be provided to the employee's dependents.

    Waiting Period

    • The waiting period prescribed by the law before the commencement of workers' compensation benefits is seven days. If your injury does not last up to seven days, you may not be eligible for workers' compensation benefits.

    Retroactive Compensation

    • You may be eligible for retroactive compensation, compensation for any waiting period, if you are totally disabled. Total disability is defined as one that causes you to be totally impaired. You must be totally disabled for a minimum of two weeks to receive this benefit.



Leave a reply