Society & Culture & Entertainment Religion & Spirituality

Some Sacred Symbols of Hinduism

The article introduces some most important symbols of Hinduism, the religion full of symbols not always known to Europeans and Americans. For example, you may ask - what is the meaning of red? But animals, too, have their secret language. Read the article and see the answers.

The following symbols are the most common symbols, but the list is not complete.

OM, also written as AUM, is a mystical word and part of all mantras. OM is the breath of the universe that first sounded during its creation. We can see this holy symbol in the beginning of all Hindu religious texts. Its depiction in Sanskrit visually resembles the European number 3.

Bindi is a small ornamental and devotional dot with which women mark the center of their foreheads.

Bull is a vehicle of Lord Shiva.

Crescent moon is a Shiva's and Parvati's symbol. Lord Ganesha and Lord Skanda (Ganesha's brother) may also be displayed with this symbol, as it emphasizes the nature of Shiva and Parvati - their parents.

Crow is a vehicle of Lord Shani, one of the nine primary celestial beings in Hindu astrology.

Flute is the instrument and symbol of Lord Krishna, the physical incarnation of Lord Vishnu on earth. His (and Lord Vishnu's) vehicle is Garuda, which is a mythological bird.

Lingam and Yoni are objects of worship that can be found in many religious places all over India. They symbolize the fusion or communication, fulfillment of the nature's laws when man and woman become like Shiva and Shakti. Thus, Lingam represents manhood and Yoni womanhood.

Mouse (or rat) is a vehicle of Lord Ganesh.

Parrot is a vehicle of Kamadeva, the Hindu deity of love.

Peacock is a Vehicle of Lord Skanda. It is also the national symbol (bird) of India.

Svastika is a symbol of prosperity and it is the second holiest symbol in Hinduism. Its four directions represent the four points of the compass and a wish for good prospects for all these directions.

Swan is a vehicle of Goddess Saraswati and Lord Brahma.

Tiger is a vehicle of Lord Ayyappa, but also a vehicle of Goddess Durga.

Trident is a weapon (and symbol) of Lord Shiva.


Saffron is the color of Lord Agni. It symbolizes all aspects of Sanatana Dharma. It is therefore the most important color of Hinduism.

Red represents purity and sensuality. Many typical Hindu symbols (as a dot on the forehead) are in red color. Red destroys evil. It radiates healthy aggression - vigor, determination, sexuality, and passion.

Green is typical for festive occasions. It symbolizes peace and happiness. It emanates nature and it brings peace to the mind.

Yellow represents knowledge and acumen. It is the color that initiates spring growth. Lord Vishnu is often displayed in yellow, but Ganesha too, because yellow is the symbol of wisdom. However, this does not mean that other Hindu Gods, if not displayed in yellow, lack wisdom. What black color means for Kali (strength), yellow means (is typical) for Lord Ganesh and Lord Krishna.

White represents peace and purity. This color is typical for Goddess Saraswati.

Blue is the color of rivers, seas, and the sky, thus it symbolizes distance, depth and height. This color radiates energies of the remotest ends (the footstool of God) of the universe.

Black is the Lord Krishna's, but also Kali's color. Black symbolizes power, because it absorbs all other colors, thus it is the badge of superiority.

The above article was written in FreeBSD, which is the system of my choice. The symbol of FreeBSD is the BSD daemon, nicknamed Beastie.

Leave a reply