Society & Culture & Entertainment Education

Science Journalism Scholarships

    Columbia University

    • The journalism department at Columbia University is considered one of the best programs in the United States. Columbia has two major science journalism scholarships. One is the Kenneth Goldstein Scholarship for Health or Science Writing. The scholarship is named after writer Kenneth Goldstein (Class of 1966) and is given to students with an interest in health or science journalism. The other science scholarship is the Abraham Braun Science Journalism Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to students who require financial assistance and demonstrate an interest in science journalism. The scholarship is named after the grandfather of writer Dr. Alice Sparberg Alexiou.

      Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism

      2950 Broadway (at 116th St.)

      Room 203 (lobby)

      New York, NY 10027


    Boston University

    • The journalism department at Boston University has a master's degree program in science journalism. For students with financial need, the department awards the Harold G. Buchbinder Scholarship, a $10,000 grant. The Scholarship is awarded by the dean of the journalism department to a student who demonstrates high academic merit within the department.

      Boston University College of Communication

      640 Commonwealth Avenue

      Boston, MA 02215


    University of British Columbia

    • Students in Canada can receive a scholarship through the journalism department at the University of British Columbia. The Science Journalism Scholarship is awarded by the Science Journal Group to first- or second-year college students. A student must show her dedication to the sciences and her determination to help scientists at the University with research projects. The annual scholarship is worth $10,000.

      University of British Columbia School of Journalism

      6388 Crescent Road

      Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2


    Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

    • The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) awards the Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowship to graduate students in journalism. The scholarship is $5,000 for a graduate student in a science journalism program or with a science journalism concentration. Graduate students with two years of professional writing experience in science writing are preferred. The scholarship is named after Rennie Taylor and Alton Blakeslee, two science writers for The Associated Press. The writers' estates fund the fellowship program. Recipients of this award are from various journalism or science programs at facilities like Columbia University, Boston University, Harvard University, New York University, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

      The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

      P.O. Box 910

      Hedgesville, WV 25427


Leave a reply